Ruth Asawa Inducted in the California Hall of Fame

We are pleased to announce Ruth Asawa as one of the 2021 California Hall of Fame inductees! Many thanks to the Governor’s office for this tremendous honor and congratulations to the other inductees.

The California Hall of Fame was established in 2006 at the California Museum by former Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and First Lady Maria Shriver to honor legendary people who embody California’s innovative spirit and have made their mark on history. Inductees come from all walks of life and have made distinguished achievements across a variety of fields, including the arts, education, business and labor, science, sports, philanthropy and public service.

Asawa was inducted along with Jerry Garcia, Larry Itliong, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, and Ritchie Valens.

Previous inductees have included Maya Angelou, Isabel Allende, Amy Tan, Cesar Chavez, Dorothea Lange, Alice Walker and Quincy Jones.

View more inductees at the California Museum website >

Learn about Asawa’s art >